Poetry, Reflections

The Darkness and the light

Let the rain fall down on my face…
Let me feel its cold embrace…
I feel the coldness in the wind…
I feel the darkness that I have within…
The sky seems too dark tonight,
Like someone up there had a fight…
I walk along this path…
A solitary man, a lonely night…
The winds turn a little colder…
My thoughts turn a little bolder…
I hear a lonely child cry…
Slowly as people around die,
Hope in this world seems to fade.
I reach out to save the child,
To comfort it, to wipe the tears
The coldness around is not mild,
This sadness I haven’t felt for years.
Under the starless darkness of the night,
The child snuggled up in fright.
I run as fast as I can…
My heart beating faster still,
I find him stranded alone on the path
Take my hand little child…
I come to save you….
With the child in my arms,
I run as fast as I can…
The darkness of the night…
Tries to take me in its embrace…
I run towards the light I see at the end…
Innocence will not die tonight.
The lights fade away slowly…
The child is now no longer alone…
The child is now with those he loves…
I see him leave me
I feel the pain again,
As the lights around me fade away…
As I feel no more the pain…
As I become one with the night,
I fade away with a smile,
Innocence did not die that night,
amidst all the cries
amidst all the hope that slowly dies,
a child now sleeps calmly in his bed
after the night is over,
after the rain washed away all the blood,
they find him lying on the path…
the solitary man who was now dead.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Darkness and the light

  1. Very unique blog you have! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! I have a discount tires site. You’ll find info on most major brands of discount tires such as Michelin, Goodyear, BF Goodrich, Cooper and more. With winter right around the corner, you can also get tire chain recommendations for your vehicle. Please visit it.Rod

Leave a Reply

